Bicycles and Not Your Average Banana Bread



Good Afternoon!

I have been nonexistent with the Blog lately. Sorry about that. I just have not been cooking and we are eating out way to much. We’ve been stressed – you know…

Why, or better question, how does life get so busy? I swear it was just May. I have been very committed to taking better care of myself, but it does get difficult at times. Ok all of the time. I keep this little voice in my head turned on and the chant I make it say over and over is “Eat to live, do not live to eat!” Some how it helps. I make better food choices. Yes really… I am having success with this. I work out quite regularly and I feel hungry or on empty about every 3 hours. I do not let myself get famished, I snack. And I snack well. I do not go for the ready made bars or weird diet food that is mass produced in a factory. Have you read what is in that stuff?? Can YOU pronounce it? “I EAT REAL FOOD!” Yes that is another little mantra of mine that floated up from my stomach to my brain. I grab a real banana or a real apple or real nuts. After all, that is the original “fast food!” Eating like this really fuels me. I do not feel guilty or sluggish immediately – No way!! I feel great! Guilt free feels great!

I am still trying to eat only things I prepare or when I can’t I look at the menu and find what is REAL. Like a salad loaded with veggies – no croutons- they aren’t real. Then a drizzle of vinegarette. Or roasted chicken with a side of veggies. The only thing I will splurge on is a Coke Zero on the weekends. I love that stuff. Otherwise it is good old H2O with Crystal Light tossed in for flavor. I live in the high mountain desert and a gallon of water a day is not unusual for me. Anyways… where was I going with all of this?… Oh yeah, The Banana Bread and my Bicycle!

I have not really ridden a bike religiously since I was a kid and a teen. I used to love to ride around the south side of Mille Lacs Lake, MN. It was my escape. After I got older and much heavier I was frankly scared to ride. It would hurt my large behind and I was afraid of falling because I was larger. This was all so ridiculous and and simply excuses! I now find that I made excuses in many forms to not take better care of myself. Shame on me. “I am worth it and darn important.”

I bought a bike.

It is not fancy and was not expensive, but has 7 speeds. I have really enjoyed it. I ride it to work 8 miles round trip, but the trip home is twice as long and up hill. Last night we went to dinner and I over indulged, after we got home and after a little rest for digestion, I went for a ride! It felt terrific. My husband also bought a bike and it has been something really fun we can do together.

On this fine day we are going for a ride and I want us to have some good energy so we will not want to turn back because we got tired. I came up with this power banana bread recipe that is so good. I am a sucker for really good banana bread and there are some recipes out there that just fall flat in taste. This does not. This slices and travels well. It is perfect in my little basket.

Power Banana Bread

Not your average banana bread. This recipe is packed with Flax and fiber to keep you energized!
Ingredients

1/2 Cup Canola Oil
2 Cup Sugar
4 Eggs
2 Tsp. Vanilla
1 Cup Milk
6 Large Very Ripe Bananas – mashed well
2 3/4 Cup Unbleached Flour
1/2 Cup Fresh ground Flax seed
1/2 Cup High Fiber Cereal (Like Red Mill’s)
3/4 tsp. Salt
1/2 tsp. Nutmeg – try it!!!
3/4 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Baking Powder

Now the easy part! I first just do one little additional step in the beginning, I mix or sift all dry ingredients together, just to make sure they are well combined. Then in a large bowl, combine and mix everything. Yes that is it. I mix gently by hand until all is well combined. Pour into 2 large or 3 regular loaf pans that have been lightly sprayed. Bake for 1 hour at 350.

Easy! Enjoy with just a touch of butter and a glass of ice cold milk.


Lovin’ this post?

Get more from the Brady Girls at your fingertips with Cookin’ Up Sweet Treats!

Borrow or Purchase our eBook Sweet Treats vol. 1 for your Kindle, iPhone, iPad, Android Devices, or Home Computer in the Kindle Store today!

Remember you can download the Kindle App for Free on nearly any device!


This post is partying over at: Coastal Charm, Savvy Southern Style, The Shabby Creek Cottage, French Country Cottage, Whipperberry, The Shabby Nest, Serenity Now, Funky Junk Interiors, Today’s Creative Blog, Home Stores A to Z, Tip Junkie, It’s So Very Cheri, Lady Behind the Curtain and others found on our ‘Linkin’ Up Parties’ Page

10 thoughts on “Bicycles and Not Your Average Banana Bread

  1. Banana bread has always been my favorite! I will have to try out your recipe! Thanks for posting! BTW I love your new bike, such a bright blue color and very vintagish looking! I just bought one too and it’s similar to yours:)

Leave a Reply

