When Life Throws You Off The Wagon

I have fallen off the healthy eating wagon a lot lately.  Life has been happening at full speed and I wasn’t prepared for it.  This is something I am learning.  I NEED to be prepared for life in order to stay on track.

For the past 3 months I was doing really well.  I had completely overhauled my eating habbits.  Cut out almost all processed foods, refined sugars, and caffeine.  I was focusing on a highly plant based diet and really noticing the positive impact this was having on a lot of my health issues.  Then my husband and I moved, I started working overtime at work, I threw my sister a bridal shower, and I found all kinds of excuses for why I could go back to “the dark side.”  I knew most of these things were coming up, but I had no plan for myself.  It has become very clear to me over the past few weeks that getting out of my normal routine and being stressed out are huge triggers for my unhealthy eating habbits.

I don’t want life to be the excuse.  Because life will keep happening and I need to be prepared for it.  I wrote about juice cleansing on my blog a while back.  I am a huge advocate for juicing and I think a juicer is a great investment for people who are looking to start eating more cleanly and get more fresh produce into their diet.  Fresh fruit and vegetable juices are so tasty, surprisingly filling, and a great way to get tons of micronutrients into your diet.  If you haven’t ever watched the movie Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead you should definitely check it out.  It was the movie that inspired my diet overhaul.

My diet the next few weeks will consist of a highly raw diet and a lot of this green stuff…

Trust me, it is so much tastier than it looks.  I am excited to get back on track and reboot my body.  If you are interested in juicing you should check out The Reboot website for some awesome information.

Holidays can also be a huge trigger for unhealthy eating.  But you can still celebrate and not feel deprived if you have a recipe like this in your back pocket.

It is a Raw Berry Tart and it is so festive for The 4th of July and also incredibly delicious.  You don’t even have to tell people that it is raw and healthy, they won’t know.  The lemon cashew cream is heavenly and perfect for a hot summer day.  Here’s to a 4th filled with good healthy food and good times with friends and family!

What is your biggest challenge to keep up healthy eating habits?

Raw Berry Tart with Lemon Cashew Cream

makes 2 small tarts, double the recipe if making a large tart

  • 1 cup pecans (or other nut of preference)
  • 4-5 medjool dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/4 cup raw nut milk (or milk of preference)
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp of liquid sweetener of choice such as honey, agave, or maple syrup (optional)
  • fresh berries
  • chopped basil
  1. Place pecans and 4 dates in blender or food processor. Pulse to a fine crumb.
  2. Check the texture to see if it holds together like a crust when pressed. Pulse in another date if needed.
  3. Divide the dough between 2 small tart pans. Firmly press into the pan to create a crust.
  4. Wrap with plastic wrap and store in the refrigerator if not using immediately.
  5. Place cashews, nut milk, lemon juice and zest, salt, and sweetener in food processor or blender. Blend to the texture of a smooth cream.
  6. Top with berries and garnish with fresh basil.

 

3 thoughts on “When Life Throws You Off The Wagon

  1. Kristin, I have a similar problem. It is so easy to revert, especially on a holiday weekend, or when times get tuff. I have to confess, by Hubby has been on vaca for the past few days, and so eating out has seemed like the fun thing to do. I usually make healthy choices when we eat out, and here in CA it’s easier because most places list the calories next to every item on their menu… Well, one night I had a craving for an old stand by from when we were in college. A Burger King Double Cheeseburger, from their value menu. I hadn’t had anything from BK in over 9 months, but for some reason I wanted it, so we went. 420 calories later, it tasted good, but I didn’t need it. I shouldn’t have gotten it, and I feel guilty about it. Why did I do it? I’m so weak sometimes… Well I guess, for me, my biggest challenge is to always be thinking about what each thing is that I’m eating. How many calories, sugar, fat, and fiber is in this. i don’t have to be religious about writing it all down, but as long as I know what I’m doing, I’m usually going to make the better decision, and watch what I eat… I also LOVE Chocolate. I have come across a sugar free, and gluten free chocolate that I love! Amberlyn Chocolates, has saved me more than once! http://www.amberlynchocolates.com/

    Keep it up! I know life can throw several curve balls. And it’s never going to be easy, but it’ll be worth it!

Leave a Reply

