A New Way of Thinkin’ and Cookin’: Grain Free Banana Bread

I discovered my love for baking about 2 1/2 years ago.  I was in the middle of finishing my music therapy internship in Austin, TX and I was far away from the comforts of Kansas.  I guess I fell into baking to find some sort of comfort so far away from home.  It didn’t take me long until I started realizing that this truly was my passion.  I had never felt this excited, comfortable, and creative in anything else in my life.

I started my original blog, Baker Bettie, to start channeling this passion.  It was such a great outlet to explore and share this huge passion that I had discovered.  But little did I know, I would have a revelation about food as it relates to my health that would totally change my thinking about the way I was cooking and baking.

I feel like I have been constantly sick my whole life.  Never anything serious, but just a constant stream of stomach aches, headaches, the flu, bronchitis, joint pain, etc… In January of 2010 I had my first migraine.  Within a year, I was having them almost every other day.  They were becoming incredibly debilitating and making it very difficult me to live life to the fullest.  I did some exploring with my doctor to try out different medications to help, but nothing seemed to work.

I had a revelation after watching the movie Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.  It seemed so simple really and I almost felt embarrassed that I had never thought of it.  I started realizing that I had not been taking responsibility for my own health and had been relying on doctors to fix the damage I was doing to my body.  That was not okay with me.  I am only 26.  I should be healthy, and truly living and loving life!

With this revelation also came the realization that I needed to relearn how to cook and bake.  This is why I decided to put my original blog on hold and start a new project, Baker in Recovery.  At times it has been a frustrating journey, but I can say it has been totally worth it.  Pushing myself past my comfort zone has made me even more creative and confident in the kitchen, not to mention that I am almost completely migraine free! I know I am only at the beginning of this journey and I can’t wait to see what else is in store!

This was my first successful healthy baking recipe.  I never want to compromise with flavor and texture.  I was almost in tears when this came out of the oven. I had several failures in a row prior to baking this bread and the success of this recipe made all of those frustrations worth it!

What have been your challenges in cooking and baking healthier? 

Grain Free Banana Bread

adapted from Elana’s Pantry
Grain free, dairy free, and refined sugar free!
Ingredients

  • 4 very ripe bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp agave or honey
  • 1/4 cup pure coconut oil
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups blanched almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp natural sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts or pecans (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Put bananas, eggs, vanilla, agave (or honey) and coconut oil in a blender or food processor.
  3. Pulse until combined.
  4. Add cinnamon, flour, sea salt, and baking soda
  5. Pulse until combined.
  6. Fold in nuts (if desired) with a spatula.
  7. Pour batter into a non-stick loaf pan
  8. Bake for 50-65 minutes, until a knife stuck in the center comes out clean.

Banana “Butter”

  • 1 large very ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup filtered water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  1. Put all of the ingredients in a blender or food processor.
  2. Blend until well combined.
  3. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week.

4 thoughts on “A New Way of Thinkin’ and Cookin’: Grain Free Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Grain Free Banana Bread and A New Project with CookinFood.com « Baker in Recovery

  2. Thank you for sharing your story, it is so inspiring! And this banana bread looks and sounds amazing- I can’t wait to see what other amazing recipes you come up with!

Leave a Reply

