Living Healthy: A New Journey by the Brady Girls and 2 New Faces!

Introducing Living Healthy where we will be Cookin’ Up Healthy Lifestyles! In this new series at Cookin’ Food we’ll be offering our humble perspectives on creating and maintaining a healthier way of life. Living Healthy will be an addition to our blog that we’ll be adding light recipes and journal entries to from time to time. As always, we are all about having good times, feeling good, and eating good, but none of us are perfect. So all 5 of us would like to share with you our ups and downs through our individual journeys in trying to live a healthier life.

We are all just like you, at different stages in life, with different obstacles, and different solutions. Some of us are seasoned veterans and some of us are just starting out. We want your advice just as much as we will be sharing our own. None of us are health care professionals, but we are all seeking to care for our health. So here we’d like to lead a discussion through the good times and the bad. We are opening our journals up for the whole world to see, in hopes of helping you to see you are not alone, and for all of us to gather that extra motivation to continue on this very bumpy road.

You read that right, there will be 5 of us contributing to this area of the blog. Please help us in
welcoming two new authors to Cookin’ Food, Pete, and Kristin!

Here’s a little bit about each of our own philosophies and where we are at on our journeys of living healthy:

Pete, Vanessa’s dad and Mel’s husband, is in the process of loosing those final 42 pounds, and learning to maintain healthier eating habits. “So, I guess I’m outnumbered again by the Brady Girl’s. Fortunately, I have been given a voice with this new “Living Healthy” section at Cookin’ Food. All kidding aside, I hope to bring in a male’s perspective on the ups and downs of trying to live a healthy lifestyle. Although, us guys have some different perspectives I think you’ll find that we have a lot of things in common and that strength can be found in a common cause -to live healthy and happy!” See Pete’s first Journal Entry!

Kristin (aka Baker Bettie) is joining us for this discussion to bring in a new perspective, and her thoughts on Mindful Eating. We are so honored to have a fellow food blogger and ‘recovering baker’ sitting at our table, and are sure you will enjoy what she brought to eat! “So what does it mean to be a “recovering baker?” I have recently had a revelation about food as it relates to my health and I am now on a path to makeover the way I think about food. It means that the days of baking with highly processed flours and refined sugars are behind me. I am learning to be a health conscious baker (seems like an oxymoron, right? It doesn’t have to be!) while not compromising on taste and satisfaction. I am honored to be here with other individuals who are also on their own journeys to find a healthy lifestyle.” Get to know Kristin more at her blog!

Laura, our middle Brady Girl, is always bringing us good food and sweet treats, but her journey of living a healthier life began in May of 2010. That’s when Laura was at her highest weight and very unhealthy. Enough was enough and it was time to start eating healthier by reducing portions, counting calories, and doing yoga. Now, two years later, Laura is down 75 lbs. and holding strong. “I’ve never looked back. I was so unhappy and never wanted to look in a mirror. Now I can honestly say my weight doesn’t restrict me anymore! How liberating! It was a slow process but that’s the proper way to lose weight, especially when you have a lot of pounds to shed. Set your mind to it and get started with your eyes on the prize: a healthier, happier you!”

Vanessa, our youngest Brady Girl, is really just starting out again in trying to live healthier. Her biggest struggle is continuing her journey each and everyday. “For me, I can be committed to change for days, weeks, months, but then I relapse. It is so easy to splurge on that weekend, after that stressful day, on that holiday; and once I start it’s a downwards spiral. I am such a foodie! But I’m starting to learn that good food can be made healthy too, and the really good food can be enjoyed in moderation. My challenge will be sharing every step and misstep of the way with you, to hold myself accountable, and to not give up!”

Mel, Vanessa’s mom, Pete’s wife, and oldest Brady Girl, is kicking butt in the fitness scene, but she has not always been this way. In fact it has only been 1.5 years since Mel decided to change… “I am so sick of carrying around this baby weight for 17 years. I set out on this road wanting to feel good and look good. So I began a strict routine of walking 3 miles, 5 days a week. Then the walking tuned into running and now I have dropped 50 pounds, but I still have 20 to go. I avoid as much processed food as possible, think 5 ingredients or less -that’s 5 ingredients that I can pronounce! Fresh is best, raw is wonderful, and lean protein turns me into a mean machine!”

We hope you’ll join us in discussion and share with us your journey, advice, and questions too, as we all strive to live healthy lifestyles together!

5 thoughts on “Living Healthy: A New Journey by the Brady Girls and 2 New Faces!

  1. Pingback: And now, for something totally different….. | Cookin' Up Good Times

  2. Pingback: Living Healthy: A New Journey by the Brady Girls and 2 New Faces … | Healthier Eating Tips

  3. What a great series, I can’t wait to follow along, I have been trying to obtain a healthier lifestyle as well. Since Jan I have lost 30 pounds, and still have about 10 to go, I am always on the look out for ways to incorporate healthy family friendly recipes into our life!

    Thanks for showing off,
    Carlee
    http://www.ladybirdln.com

Leave a Reply

