And now, for something totally different…..

The number “42” kept coming into my head today.  I am Mel’s husband -one of one of the Brady Girls- we’ve been married for 24 years now and have 3 great children and a pretty good life.  Throughout my married life I have had the pleasure of enjoying what the Brady Girls are famous for:  The Food, of course.  This has greatly enriched my life as many times a great meal was always accompanied by an event which involved family, friends, and memories not to be forgotten.  Unfortunately, all this good food can have its side effects.  Namely, that of becoming a bit overweight over the years.  

Today I realized I was 42 years old and 42 pounds overweight.  Not something I’m proud of but nonetheless something that has been staring me in the face for quite some time now.  To top things off I ran a quarter marathon yesterday with those 42 extra pounds and showed no improvement over last year’s time.  This really bugged me…..the words, “No Improvement”  I am not used to these words.  

I’ve always improved at most things in life.  Whether it be improving our family unit and relationships, improvement with work and economic circumstances, or improvements to my tennis game or other athletic challenges.  I do not like to hear the words, “No Improvement”.  This may be the motivation I need to get rid of these 42 pounds I’ve been carrying around now for the last several years.   I am hoping that by keeping a record of my journey to do so will help keep me motivated to do so and I want to share this journey with you in an effort to help others and to seek help along the way.  

I know I’m not the only one out there who is faced with an obstacle like this and I believe we’ll have a fun time on this journey together.  I’ll be sharing my day to day ups, downs, triumphs, failures, epiphanies, philosophies, and delusions of grandeur for all the webosphere to see.  My hope is to have success with my health and weight loss goals and through this process it will not only be a cathartic and uplifting experience for myself but may help another who is facing a similar challenge in their own life.  Don’t get me wrong, being the husband of a Brady Girl is great…..sometimes too great!

Find out more about Living Healthy – a new series here at Cookin’ Food!

4 thoughts on “And now, for something totally different…..

  1. Pingback: Living Healthy: A New Journey by the Brady Girls and 2 New Faces! | Cookin' Up Good Times

  2. Glad to hear your perspective Pete! Feeling as though we are standing still can be frustrating, but I really do feel that our awareness that we are standing still and not moving forward is half (if not more) of the battle! Looking forward to hearing about your progress!

Leave a Reply

