Chocolate Energy Bars, Fuel for your Day!

If you need energy for a workout or breakfast on the go -these are the perfect way to go. Our Chocolate Energy Bars are full of protein, whole grains, chocolate, and just a touch of cayenne creating a little taste of Heaven in every bite. Low in sugar, and high in energy!

I have been using energy bars a lot now because I have a weight goal. Just 18 months ago I was 205 lbs. and am only 5’4″. I did not like how I felt on the outside or on the inside. I spent my first 40 years on the planet overweight and out of shape. I woke up one day and said NO MORE! I never looked back. It has been a struggle but only at first. Once I found the one thing that got me results quickly, I stayed with it. For me, that was running. So today, I am 162 lbs. and need to lose 22 more.

Recently, I have added to my running and eating healthy routine.  My boss gave all of us a 90 day membership to Cross Fit. Really great guy, he heard us talking about getting personal trainers and wanted to do something really great for all of us.

So here I am trying to lose the last of this extra weight, and now I’m nearly doubling my workout. I feel more drained and need the extra fuel to get through it all. So I created my version of an energy bar. Sort of a granola bar meets no bake cookies, but with wholesome ingredients. I am an advocate for real-natural ingredients, so there is real butter, natural peanut butter, and honey in these. About the only thing that’s not natural in here are the chocolate chips.  Hey, I said natural ingredients are great, but I’m not perfect -girl’s gotta have her chocolate!

Chocolate Energy Bars

Ingredients:

1/3 Cups Cocoa

1/2 Cup Butter

3 Tbs. Honey

1/4 Cup Brown sugar

1/3 Cup All Natural Peanut Butter

1. In a medium sized pot warm all of the above ingredients on the stove top until well melted. Not too hot, just until the brown sugar is dissolved. Set aside and let cool slightly. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Then I gathered the rest of the ingredients -this is so easy you won’t believe it:

1 1/2 Cups Granola (see our recipe!)

1 3/4 Cups Rolled Oats

1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour – fresh ground is best

2 Tbs Wheat Germ

3 Tbs Ground Flax

1/4 tsp Cayenne pepper (optional – but so good)

3/4 tsp Cinnamon

3/4 tsp salt

1 Cup Chocolate Chips

2 Eggs (beaten)

2. In a large mixing bowl, add all of the above dry ingredients (minus the eggs) and mix well.

3. To the wet cocoa mixture that has had time to cool a bit, add slowly, 2 beaten fresh eggs and mix well. Then pour all of this into the dry ingredients and mix until well incorporated. Spread into a 13″ x 9″ sprayed pan.

4. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Let cool slightly, cut into bars and separate on a cooling rack to cool fully. Wrap and store on the counter for 2-3 days or in the fridge is best. Will last for a week if you don’t eat them all first!

Makes: about 36, 1.5″ x 4″ bars.

Time: 30 minutes

Enjoy and be healthy!!


Lovin’ this post?

Get more from the Brady Girls at your fingertips with Cookin’ Up Sweet Treats!

Borrow or Purchase our eBook Sweet Treats vol. 1 for your Kindle, iPhone, iPad, Android Devices, or Home Computer in the Kindle Store today!

Remember you can download the Kindle App for Free on nearly any device!


This post is partying over at: French Country Cottage, Today’s Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Home Stories AtoZ, Savvy Southern Style, The Shabby Creek Cottage, The Shabby Nest, Funky Junk Interiors, Cherished Treasures and others

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Energy Bars, Fuel for your Day!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Energy Bars | Extreme Couponing for Minnesota and Wisconsin

  2. Pingback: Recipe of the Day: Homemade Strawberry or Lemon Sorbet | Extreme Couponing for Minnesota and Wisconsin

Leave a Reply

