Delightfully Delicious Coconut Cake

I have a mother in law that absolutely adores coconut and I always make her a coconut cake around Mother’s Day.  But let’s be honest here.  I’m a pretty darn big fan of it myself!  I find myself adding it to all kinds of recipes that don’t list it in the ingredients like cookies, cakes, or smoothies and it really bumps it up a couple of notches.  Something I’ve found that frustrates me about typical coconut cake recipes is that you start with a boxed cake mix.  Well, friends, not this one.  This one comes from the heart!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking boxed mixes.  There’s a time and place for them, heck I use them myself!  But when I’m baking a cake for someone special I feel it adds an extra touch when I make the cake completely from scratch.  And let me tell you, this cake is so moist, tasty and just plain GOOD.  And when it’s all done up it looks like a cloud you wanna float around on for a while and just BE.  Can’t argue with that!

Before this cake even made it to the oven, I had my two girls bustling around me “Mom, whatcha makin’ now?  It smells sooo goood!”,  “Can I have some right now?  Isn’t it done yet?”  Geez, where on earth do they get their patience from…or lack there of.  Aren’t we onto the recipe yet?  I can’t believe we haven’t started learning about this fluffy goodness already 😉

Delightfully Delicious Coconut Cake

Ingredients:

1 Cup Butter (softened)
2 Cups Sugar
1 Cup Buttermilk
2 tsp. Pure Vanilla
2 tsp. Coconut Extract
5 Eggs
2 ½ Cups Flour
1 tsp.  Baking Soda
1 tsp. Salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350° F.  Spray two 8” round pans with cooking spray and line bottoms with parchment paper.

2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.  Mix together and set aside.

3. In a small bowl, combine buttermilk, vanilla, and coconut extract.  Mix together with whisk or fork.  Set aside.

4. In a separate, large bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time.  Beat well after adding each one.

5. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk combination to butter mixture until all is combined and mixed until smooth.

6. Pour batter evenly between the two prepared 8” pans.  Bang pans lightly on hard surface a few times, like a counter or table, to force air bubbles in batter to come to the surface.

7. Bake for approximately 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted near the center of the cake.

8.  Allow cakes to cool in pans for at least one hour.  Transfer to wire racks to finish cooling.

9.  When completely cool, frost with your favorite frosting.

To frost my coconut cake, I used our Professional Like Buttercream Frosting from our Cookin’ Up Sweet Treatsebook available in the Amazon Kindle Store. You can download it on your Kindle, iPad, iPhone, Blackberry, Android Phone, and your home computer! Learn more here.  I added 2 tsp. of coconut extract to it and I was in business. I was just eating the frosting out of the darn bowl!  It was that good! Feel free to do that to your favorite frosting as well.  Give it a try with a whipped topping like Cool Whip if you prefer.  It would lighten things up, but be careful when adding the extract because it can thin out your whipped topping.  Just use a watchful eye.

Here’s how I assembled the cake:

Take your first layer and use a serrated knife to cut off the very top of the cake to produce a level surface.   Do the exact same thing to your second layer.

Take your first layer and place it on your cake stand or plate.  A trick to get it to stay in place is to take a small dollop of your frosting and swipe it down on the middle of your cake plate.  Works like glue!  Spread about a 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of frosting on top of your first layer.

Sprinkle a thin layer of coconut on top of the frosting.  Not too much otherwise your top layer won’t stick properly to your bottom layer.

Take your second layer and place it upside down (so the bottom of your second layer is now your top!) on your first layer.

Proceed with covering the entire cake with the rest of your frosting.  When finished, sprinkle coconut all over the cake, pressing coconut gently onto the sides.  Garnish with fresh berries or chocolate curls if you’d like.

Don’t you just want to cut a slice and dive right in?  I sure did, the second after I took this picture.  I just couldn’t help myself.  And I had plenty of help eating it too.  Remember those ‘patient’ children I mentioned earlier?  Well, they finally got to taste what their noses were so excited about 🙂


Lovin’ this post?

Get more from the Brady Girls at your fingertips with Cookin’ Up Sweet Treats!

Borrow or Purchase our eBook Sweet Treats vol. 1 for your Kindle, iPhone, iPad, Android Devices, or Home Computer in the Kindle Store today!

Remember you can download the Kindle App for Free on nearly any device!


This post is partying over at:The Shabby Creek Cottage, Whipperberry, Serenity Now, Today’s Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Home Stories AtoZ, Savvy Southern Style and others

54 thoughts on “Delightfully Delicious Coconut Cake

  1. I love coconut, especially in the summer. This cake looks delicious. Thanks for linking to the Home Decor and Organizing Link Party. I’m featuring this on my blog today.

  2. Pingback: Topsy Turvy Tuesdays - I'm Topsy Turvy

  3. I have a few favorite things, chocolate, coconut, peanut butter, cake and ice cream. and I love mixtures of 2 or more together (not the peanut butter and coconut together though) so I think this sounds and looks amazing! Thanks for linking up to Topsy Turvy Tuesdays, I’m featuring your cake today!

    • Hi, Ashlee! Love your site and your cakes! I too am a cake decorator but not on such a grand scale as you 😉 Thank you for the feature today and we love linking up to your parties. Thanks for hosting 🙂

Leave a Reply

