Start Your Garden Now -Great Tips from an Impatient Gardener: Seedlings!

Gardening can be dirt cheap! Yup, pun intended here. I live in Zone 5A and I get sick and tired of waiting to get my garden in. The weather in the mountain west is so fickle. I virtually have no patience when it comes to getting outside and getting busy in the spring. I want dirt and grunge under my fingernails now! There must be dirt in my veins or something.

Start Your Own Seedlings

First, thing first, I started my seedlings on my kitchen counter. I picked up a bag of Seedling Starter Potting Mix which you can buy at Wal-Mart or at any garden supply store. I then took some cardboard egg cartons, that I had a friend save for me. Filled them up with the potting mix to the rim, and placed 2-3 tiny seeds on top. Did you know any seed needs to be planted in the dirt twice as deep as it is big. Yup, so I just dusted my seeds with the smallest amount of dirt over top of them, just enough to cover them up, and misted them with water.



Then it’s time to create your own mini indoor green houses. I placed my cartons of seeds into a store bought Bundt Cake container or a plastic storage container with a lid and cut a few slits/holes in the top for some air flow. Then close the lid and put it in a nice sunny location on my counter. I misted them with water everyday. Do NOT let them dry out! Within 7 days I had seedlings sprouting! Such a proud garden mama 🙂

Let your seedlings reach at least 3″ high before planting them outdoors in your garden. I personally like to grow my seedlings 8-12 weeks indoors, transferring them into larger cups/pots/2-liter bottle bottoms as they outgrow their initial home.

See?! Dirt cheap and you CAN start your garden now! Why wait? Let me know how your garden grows. I’d love to hear from you!

16 thoughts on “Start Your Garden Now -Great Tips from an Impatient Gardener: Seedlings!

  1. Stopping by from Nifty Thrifty. I love starting seeds and I have so many of these containers and never thought of using them. They definitely make a great greenhouse environment. I use a heating coil and then lids, but this is so much more cost effective! My fingers are crossed that you’ll come on over and share your post at Sunday’s Best Party tonight, sure hope so! (www.my1929charmer.com)

  2. This is great…if only I didn’t kill everything I plant! Here’s to a Spring without any plants dying on me. 🙂 Thanks for sharing at A Pinteresting Party!

  3. Creative and cost-effective ideas! Thanks for sharing. (I’ll also need to try out some of your scrumptious recipes on this blog. The photos are making my mouth water!)

    I’m hoping you can share some of your gardening advice with me, a newbie gardener. I started sprouting seedlings for the first time this year at the beginning of April in little peat moss packs in a greenhouse kit in the kitchen of my small home in the hopes of planting them in containers in late May. (It was an Easter gift.) I planted a variety of herbs (e.g. dill, basil, chives) and vegetables (e.g. lettuce, celery, lambs quarters). I got some of the seeds from a seed sharing event and some are organic seeds I purchased. The seedlings started growing at different rates. Some quickly and some slowly. For some reason, the seedlings that grew quickly are growing really tall and thin and then falling over. Any idea as to what I’m doing wrong? Should I scrap these ones and start over?

    I so love home cooking and wanted to grow my own herbs and vegetables in my small home garden to add the flavours of fresh picked produce.

    Any sage advice from the Brady Girls would be much appreciated.

    Blessings for an abundant produce this year!

    • Please forgive me for being a bit slow to reply. I have been on Vacation with the other Brady Girls.
      The tall thin seedlings that you have may need a little root booster. This is easily done, give them a little Miracle Grow liquid plant food. (Follow directions on container). This should give them a little boost and then replant them as soon as possible in some rich soil. You are not doing anything wrong, all plants grow at their own special pace, some need more light than others some like their roots wet while others like it only damp. There will be those times when no matter what you try, the plant will expire, fear not, we are so early in the season that if some do not turn out for you, you can start again. If there is a certain plant that you have your heart set on, then do just a bit of homework via the internet or your local library on how to grow that particular plant and you will have more success and feel great about what you are accomplishing.
      I hope you have a great gardening season, there is nothing like fresh produce from your own garden!
      Luv,
      Mel

      • Thanks so much for your tips and encouragement, Melody! I’ll try what you suggested and keep trying again and again if I have to, until I get it right. It’s a learning process and I need to remember to be patient with it.

        I hope you had a fabulous vacation with the Brady Girls!

  4. Pingback: Seedlings~Day 11 « The Homestead at Spring Creek

  5. Pingback: Growing plants from seeds « carminereddarter

  6. We just planted some seeds yesterday! I love watching them grow! Thanks so much for sharing at Mom On Timeout!

    –Trish

  7. Pingback: Overflowing with Creativity Features #19 : Its Overflowing

Leave a Reply

