“Kool” Way to Dye Easter Eggs

My Rustic Looking Easter Eggs

I’m always on the hunt for something new and fun to do with my kids.  So when I stumbled upon this method of dying Easter Eggs with Kool-Aid, I was fascinated.  How fun and super easy!  I knew I already had the egg dying cups from years passed and the dippers too.  Just needed to get the Kool-Aid and I was set.

I let the kids know of my plans and they were pretty darn excited, I must say.  Especially when they found out the colors in the cups were made with that drink mix they usually sip in the summer.  Here’s what you need, and let me tell you, it really isn’t much!

Dying Easter Eggs with Kool-Aid


Ingredients
Kool-Aid Packets (whatever colors you like)

2/3 Cup Water per Kool-Aid Packet

Hard Boiled Eggs

Crayons (optional)

Directions

Mix each packet with 2/3 cup water in egg dying cup or any cup that will allow egg to be completely covered by colored liquid.   If you like, you can use crayons to write on dry eggs to make designs which will show up after you dye them.  Place egg into cup and let sit for as long as you like.  The longer you allow the egg to sit in the Kool-Aid colored water, the brighter the color will be.

Tips:  As you can see from my pictures, I had to improvise on the green.  The store I frequent was out of Lemon Lime Kool-Aid so I used Lemonade and added a few drops of green food coloring.  That worked just fine.  Turns out they were out of Grape too!  So I combined Mixed Berry (which is blue) and Cherry to make purple.  The purple color is very dark so you may want to play around with your mixtures a little to get your desired color. 

I really let my kids go with this project….it really is for their enjoyment in the end.  Both of them were arguing over who got to draw on which egg and who got to drop which egg in what color. “Hey, that’s my dipper”,”Quit poking at my eggs.” Ahhhhh, the sound of siblings lovingly sharing in holiday traditions.  Really makes you want to get started on your own, doesn’t it? 🙂  But enjoy it they did and the end result was most definitely “Kool”.

Keep your carton. It works great as a drying rack!

12 thoughts on ““Kool” Way to Dye Easter Eggs

  1. Pingback: Deviled Eggs 3 ways, and a few ways to Celebrate Easter | Cookin' Up Good Times

  2. Pingback: Easter Highlights

    • I did see this somewhere, Carole! So amazing! I will have to try it on my little girls’ hair sometime 🙂 They’ll love it.

    • Thank you and you’re so welcome! It really is an easy and inexpensive way to do your Easter Eggs. Let us know if you use this method to dye yours!

Leave a Reply

