Cookin’ Up Perfect Hard-boiled Eggs


Easter is fast approaching and there are spring decorations everywhere. Some of which are eggs all decked out in brilliant colors. What are your favorite ways to eat this most perfect food? Of course that’s my opinion because I love eggs – I eat them every day. This is the reason I keep 6 big beautiful hens to keep up with my desire to eat a more healthy, “farm to table” lifestyle. Eggs are perfect to me because they are un – messed with. What I mean by that is not processed; just crack, cook and eat! There are major health benefits to devouring these little low calorie, high protein powerhouses. Google it, you will be amazed, absolutely amazed, I promise. Gone are the days when the egg was thought to be the evil cholesterol monster, in fact studies have now proven that eggs are good for you heart among many, many, many, yes many other things.

I like to have eggs on the go as well. I mean I love them hard boiled. It is so easy and a hard boiled egg will last longer than 1 week in the fridge. That is if I let it alone and not eat it. I take them to work and eat them for a fast snack and they really tie me over. So yes, some days I may eat 4 eggs in a day. Don’t judge me, my claws are strong and my coat has never looked shinier. I feel great.

To cook the perfect hard boiled egg I just do the following quick steps and presto, no green around the yolk. Oh, yours turn green? Well, that is ok, but the proteins are getting over cooked, so let’s save those precious proteins by trying these simple little steps:

Place eggs in a single layer in a pot and fill it with enough cold water to cover the eggs by an inch. No I do not add salt or vinegar. No the eggs do not crack because we are not over cooking them

Bring the water to just a full boil, then promptly remove the pot from the heat and let the eggs stand in the pot for 15 to 20 minutes, a bit more won’t hurt, but I use a timer so I do not forget about them.

Drain the water and store the eggs. I usually wait until they are chilled before I peel and eat. But a hardboiled egg can sit out on the counter for a couple of days and be just great. Yes no kidding.

Please enjoy these nutritionally sound little orbs of yumminess. Your body will thank you. -Mel

2 thoughts on “Cookin’ Up Perfect Hard-boiled Eggs

  1. Pingback: “Kool” Way to Dye Easter Eggs | Cookin' Up Good Times

  2. Pingback: Deviled Eggs 3 ways, and a few ways to Celebrate Easter | Cookin' Up Good Times

Leave a Reply

