Snowed In and Bake I Must!

Yep.  It FINALLY happened.  We got snowed in for the first time this winter season…and it’s almost March!  I mean, it’s called MinneSNOWta for a reason, right?!?!  My oldest daughter was jumping up and down with delight at 6:00 a.m. because school was closed for the day.  And yes, you read that right.  She was awake at the BC of dawn when she should’ve been sleeping in on this ‘free day’, dang it!  It was going to be a looooong day.  I roused myself from bed only to find that my youngest daughter was standing in the hall at 6:05 a.m. smiling guiltily because she was awake waaay too early. As she said, “I’m awake too!  Let’s go downstairs and go outside right now!  I can ALMOST see outside…”  Ahhhh, yes, loooong day indeed!

So, I knew that I was going to have to do my favorite thing to pass some time today and that is bake.  A minor glitch in this plan is that in the back of my mind I knew that some of my baking supplies were getting on the low side.  Ehhh, I can be just as creative as the next gal when it comes to baking ingredients so I started to dig.  I had the basics:  flour, sugar, brown sugar, etc.  It was the additions like chocolate chips, cream cheese, pumpkin, etc. that I was having issues with.  Well, I found large marshmallows, about a cup of chocolate chips, and some caramel Hershey’s Kisses.  AHA!  I can turn this into Marshmallow Chocolate Chip Bars if I cut up the large marshmallows and chop up the caramel Hershey’s Kisses.  I know what you’re thinking right about now…chop up caramel Hershey’s Kisses?  Cut up large marshmallows?  Crazy much?  Okay, I’m not going to lie to you.  This whole process ended up getting a little messy and maybe a little tedious.  But hey, you do what you gotta do in the name of baking!  Being creative and versatile is key.  Honestly, the end result was amazing and sooo worth it.  And my kids were happy to have a homemade treat on a day like today!  If you’re not feeling as adventurous as I was and do actually have the proper ingredients, make them as stated below.  They’re just as amazing!

Recipe Notes:  The specific changes I made to the recipe below are the following:  Cut up large marshmallows with a kitchen scissors to equal 2 cups (feel free to still use mini marshmallows here). Use 1 cup chocolate chips. Chop up caramel Hershey’s Kisses to equal 1 cup.  When it comes time to stir in these ingredients, separate cut up marshmallows with fingers into batter. Do the same with chopped up Kisses.  Just be sure all is evenly blended throughout your batter. 

Marshmallow Chocolate Chip Bars

Chocolatey bars with a marshmallow surprise that are popular among all ages!

Ingredients:

1 Cup Butter
½ Cup Sugar
1 Cup Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla
2 ¼ Cups Flour
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Salt
2 Cups Miniature Marshmallows
2 Cups Milk or Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
¾ Cups Chopped Nuts (optional)
   


1.  Preheat oven to 350° F.  Grease a 9×13” pan.

2.  In bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

3. In separate bowl, cream butter and sugars.  Add in eggs, one at a time.  Beat in vanilla.  Stir in flour mixture, mixing well.  Stir in marshmallows, chips and nuts.

4. Spread batter into pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool completely in pan.

Makes: Approx. 36 servings (depending on your bar size)

Time: Approx. 40 minutes

5 thoughts on “Snowed In and Bake I Must!

    • I had some pretty happy neighbors when I sent a plate of them over with Brenna. I was told that she heard a lot of “These bars rock” and “They’re awesome” from adults and kids 🙂

  1. Pingback: Recipes in Cookin’ Up Sweet Treats, part 1 | Cookin' Up Good Times

Leave a Reply

