Super Lemony Lemon Bars!

Perfect!

So last week we asked our Facebook followers what lemon recipe they would like us to feature next. Majority won out voting for Lemon Bars, and now they are finally here! But it wasn’t easy getting here:
I started last week, making my Mother’s Lemon Bars recipe -or so I thought. It turns out there were a few typos, and that this recipe was meant to be made in a huge jelly roll pan, not a little 9×13… So the lemon bars baked, and baked, and baked some more. Until finally at an hour, I pulled them out, noticing the top was getting burnt and underneath it was still like jello. I scraped off the top burnt film -which is that lovely picture- and put it back in the oven, thinking ‘these things have got to cook now!’ Turns out they never did firm up, and the crust baked until it was nearly black… oh yummy! Haha, I should mention now that I am not the baker, I can follow a recipe, but coming up with my own rarely ever happens. After talking to my mom we realized that the recipe she sent me was all sorts of wrong, the top had 8 eggs, no flour, and 2 1/4 cups of lemon juice… it was a yellow gooey mess.

The moral of the story is, if the recipe is not working, it’s probably broke.

So I set out to fix her recipe and put my own twist on things. And this is what I came up with! These Lemon Bars will knock your socks off with their super lemon flavor coupled perfectly with a sweet crust. They will literally melt in your mouth. But don’t let their angel-like appearance fool you, they are by no means healthy! Also, look for this recipe and more in our first book coming to Kindle Market Place this month!

Perfect Lemon Bars

Sweet meets tart, creamy, flaky, and oh so good in this perfect lemon concoction that will have you begging for more!
Ingredients
Crust
3 Cups All-purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Sugar
1/4 tsp. Salt
1 Tbs. Lemon Juice
1 Cup Butter (room temperature)

Filling
4 Large Eggs
2 Egg Yolks
2 Tbs. Lemon Zest
3 Cups Sugar
1 ½ Cups Lemon Juice
½ Cup Flour
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Lay down parchment paper or foil in a 9×13” pan. Lightly grease it with cooking spray.

2. Make the crust. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, salt and lemon juice. Cut butter into chunks and add to flour mixture. Blend in with an electric mixer at low speed until mixture forms coarse, sandy crumbs.

Press mixture into pan with your fingers or the back of a spoon into an even layer. Poke the crust a few times with a fork so it will not create large bubbles while baking. Bake for 16-18 minutes, until lightly browned around the edges.

3. While crust is baking, make filling. Whisk together all filling ingredients in a large bowl. Mix very well.
When the crust comes out of the oven and is still hot, pour in filling mixture.

4. Bake for about 25-30 minutes, or until filling is set and does not jiggle when the pan is gently shaken. Cool completely before slicing. Perfect!

Tip: Oven times and temps may vary, so a watchful eye is a good idea. Sprinkle with powder sugar and serve.
Makes: Approx. 36 servings (depending on your bar size)
Time: Approx. 35 minutes (plus cooling time)

12 thoughts on “Super Lemony Lemon Bars!

  1. Yo, what is lemon zest? Is that just when you grate on a lemon peel? Also, for the 4 eggs and 2 egg yolks: are the 2 egg yolks in addition to 4 eggs? Sorry, hope that isn’t confusing. 🙂

    • Hi, great questions!

      Lemon zest is the finely grated peel of the lemon. Just the outer surface of it, so don’t grate past the yellow skin. We may have to post a video about that…

      And it is 4 whole eggs. Plus 2 egg yolks. So you will need 6 eggs total for this recipe. You can save the egg whites and make yourself a healthy omelet to off set these not-so-healthy bars 🙂

      I hope that makes sense, let me know if you have any other questions!

  2. Pingback: Recipes in Cookin’ Up Sweet Treats, part 1 | Cookin' Up Good Times

  3. droooooool. I love lemon bars! I’ve been making a ‘lighter’ lemon bar but I always screw up the crust by thinking I need more butter than I really do. Maybe I’ll make this one for a party I’m having next weekend!

  4. Hi! I really want to make this today for my pregnancy craving. I noticed in the ingredients it says 1 tbs of lemon juice for the crust and in the directions (2) it says lemon zest, not juice. Which am I supposed to use?

    • Hi Crystal!

      Sorry for the confusion. Yes, the butter should be unsalted.

      For baking in general unsalted butter is the norm, unless otherwise stated in the recipe…

      Also, you can use either juice or zest in the crust, but it should say lemon juice for the crust. I’ll fix that. I’ve made it both ways, and liked juice better.

      Hope that helps!

      • That does help, thank you so much. 🙂 I was just about to ask if I needed to use the zest. Can I possibly get away with not using zest in the filling? Sorry if I’m being a pain, but as soon as I saw your recipe I knew that this is what I was craving lol and my fiancee is picking up the stuff I need before he leaves work.

      • Glad to help! Yeah you can get away without using zest. The zest does add more lemon flavor and the natural oils from the lemon, that are much more powerful than the juice, so it is nice to have, but not necessary.

        I hope you enjoy them, They are so good, and extremely lemony!

Leave a Reply

