Seed Bombs: Saving the Earth One Flower at a Time

Hmmm… Earth Day is a few days away… Mother’s Day is coming, Oh and let’s not forget the end of the school year is fast approaching! A teacher might like a little thank you gift that keeps on giving…

What on earth is a seed bomb? Well to describe them, they are clever little balls of clay, dirt, and seeds that you can make and share as gifts. Kids will love making and using these because it involves getting their hands busy in the wonderful cool clay and dirt, and ‘bombing’. Truth be known, I had a great time getting my hands dirty and squishing the cool concoction between my fingers. It was like I was 5 again. Love it!.

Wikipedia’s gives a bit more insight as to what they are used for:
Seed bombing or aerial reforestation is a technique of introducing vegetation to land by throwing or dropping compressed bundles of soil containing live vegetation (seed balls). Often, seed bombing projects are done with arid or off-limits (for example, privately-owned) land.

That’ a mouthful. Really these are an ingenious way of helping out the environment. They have been around for a while and have been used with great success in other countries to help plant native grasses and flowers along a vast expanse of land. Here in the US, there is a movement that’s started to help beautify your surroundings -perhaps even in a covert way. For a better grasp of what I mean, I will refer to GuerrillaGardening.org. They ‘encourage gardening without boundaries… and seek to provide inspiration through an exchange of ideas and experiences from guerrilla gardeners around the world and those seeking to become one.’
“Brilliant!,” I thought to myself. “I’m in!”

…Now I am not endorsing breaking any laws here or trespassing, but the thought of making a vacant lot or abandoned eyesore of a building a little brighter and more cheerful, really intrigues me. I think what someone could quietly and anonymously do is go through town and scatter these little seed bombs, let Mother Nature do her part and wait to see what happens. Kinda naughty? Well perhaps a little. It’s sort of fun to think that being a bit sneaky -by the moon’s light- one could drop, sling, fling, punt or shoot via sling shot into a vacant field or abandoned lot, these little balls full of life. Then with a bit of spring rain and a little time -FLOWERS! But really, what harm can come of it as long as seeds that you use are native to your area.

Seed Bombs

You’ll need:
Packs of wild flowers
Air dry red clay
Gardening dirt

These are super easy to make, but are a bit messy so be sure to make these outside. All you need is a small container of red clay, the air dry stuff works best and is so cheap at Wal-Mart. To this I added dirt from the garden. Yup, regular dirt. I did relocate a few worms, but that is the fun of it! I mixed together about 4 parts clay to 1 part dirt, but this was not exact. You do not have to be exact here, we are not baking a cake. Then I took about 10 packs of various wildflower seeds that are native to my area and added only enough water to get everything workable. I believe I only used a bit less than 2 cups water. Then the fun, I mixed and squished and mixed some more until everything was the consistency of thick cookie dough, not too sticky. That was my favorite part!! Then roll these into the desired size. I made them smaller than a ping pong ball and it made about 5 dozen. Then set them on a tray until completely dry. Depending on where you live and your humidity levels, it could take a couple of days. Then package up and give away.

There should be instructions included, something fun and clever explaining what these funny little things are. Somethign like: “Fling me into the wild blue yonder where I will be sure to land on ground that is in need of beauty and color, like a vacant field or abandoned lot. Or plant in a sunny location and water regularly.”

Now when I was all done with this little project, and began to clean up, I passed by the spinach patch I realized that it did NOT have to be just flowers. Think about it -lettuce and spinach and kale! All of these grow well and quick. Deer and other woodland creatures will love this as a treat.

Oh and a side note. After I had finished and hours had passed, my dear Hubby saw a plateful of little round, brown nuggets. He thought they were cake balls and was reaching his hand out to grab one while asking what sort of cake they were. “STOP!!!” I yelled, “don’t eat those! They are dirt!” The craziest look came over him. I then explained and we both just giggled, but oh how we would NOT have been laughing had he got a mouthful of those. Well, I would have laughed… and laughed. And I am actually giggling right now writing this.

Anyways, try them out with your family. Then let us know what you think and how much fun you had dispersing these around town. Maybe take some pictures when your eco-friendly works of art start to appear this summer! Happy Earth Day!

49 thoughts on “Seed Bombs: Saving the Earth One Flower at a Time

    • Hi! I hope making your own works out, if you’re using good seeds and the bombs are broken so the seeds reach water, dirt, and sunlight they should work… let us know how yours turn out!

  1. Awesome! I was just mentioning seed bombs to my mom the other day! I’m going to pin this so I don’t forget again! Found you via Sumo’s Sweet Stuff :)

  2. I love this idea. What a fun and only slightly naughty way to be good to the earth. Have you seen the moss graffiti? It’s kinda like this, but with a lot more work, so I think seed bombing is much more up my alley. Thanks for the idea!

  3. Pingback: Seed Bomb « Yurts And Things

  4. I am a farmer’s wife and I worry that this could cause an epidemic of weeds growing and taking over native plants. A weed is anything that is growing where it should not be growing. Throwing random seeds into vacant lots and medians could spread noxious weeds, much like the weeds from seed pods that have been introduced into areas because of decorative wreaths that have been thrown away.

Leave a Reply

